Tonals Revised

Another week I really wanted to fixed was the tonality week. I didn’t feel I produced work that was up to standard o the work created that week. So I tried a couple of new ones in the hope they would be better than the previous!

My tonality week was based in Hell Tree World. The 9 circles of hell in a tree. For that in our group I had to do Lust and Heresy. Now looking back i really wanted to do something with greed but now that I’m doing more tonals I’ve altered focus to which layers of hell i would be working on.

I decided to stick with Lust and do another tonal that was more appropriate. in this layer it features sandstorms and the pain of being in the layer is that its filled with solitude. I think this one is bit more suited to the theme. I left out the gatekeeper in this to emphasise that idea of solitude.

lust
Lust

The other layer I focused on was greed. I really loved the concept, the idea of guttonous people trying to eat food but held back by the idea that the exterior of the nice fruit  rotten inside (Bringing influences of S7ven!) For the drawing I brought in influences from other groups who viewed the protagonist in first person and thinking of Emily’s designs and the person grabbing the fruit from the tree. I wanted to show both elements together. I think the end results looks okay, much better than previous tonals since I spent more time on it and for me it reflect more of my own style!

I’m not sure if i was cheating using a shade of yellow for highlights but i really liked it when i added it in so i just rolled with it.

please compress-min
Greed

Now I’m somewhat happy I gave tonals another go!

 

 

Leave a Reply

