Flip it and Fix it

So at last the finishing touches, Where I left off was finishing the ears. At this point I flipped over the head and it looked like this:

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 18.59.02
Oh Dear

Now clearly it doesn’t look like me, my chin is too pointed and i seem to be missing a jaw. My nose is wrong, there are various reasons but we will settle with just wrong. The lips seem too stretched and the eyes look sunken in; so as you can see I have some work to do.

I looked into the sculpting tools to be my saviour, I found some of them to be too extreme or just not helpful (with my workflow) so I just used the general sculpt tool where I increase/decrease the size of the vertices and smooth all in one tool. Attempted to fix the nose and trying to fix the mesh along the way I got to this point. It looked to me pretty decent on an angle, using my other reference photos to help however one I went to the front view I was disappointed.

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 21.51.44
Smoothed at Angle
Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 23.48.07
Unsmoothed Mess

The back of the head and eyes were a mess at the nose was not working for me, I’ve mentioned a few times that my nose is really annoying because it s not aligned with my face and trying to replicate it on this model has been very frustrating. So the smooth tool definitely was my friend when I was trying to balance the mesh out.

 

At  this point I thought I was finally getting somewhere  and by asking my dad was much needed advice here was the things I need to tackle.

  • Fix the form on the lips, in the image they sit out more and are slanted at the sides. Focusing on the upper lip for volume
  • The bridge of my nose needs to come in
  • The sides of my face go inward where there is a fall off to the ears
  • The top of my head should be more square instead of egg shaped where my shameful forehead must be bigger. (cries)
  • The eyes need a bit of work, softening lines and plumping up parts so i don’t look old

I wish I took more screenshots but if that was the case you would see the head model change every few minutes. A lot of tweaking and undoing what I was tweaking on loop.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 17.43.48
Getting There

I found not only using  my reference images helpful but my drawings as well to feature out particular nose and lip shapes. At this point and I felt as if the top of my head and the jawline were forming. The eyes still looks weird and the theres wrinnkles around the top lips that are a no but continuing to fix them as I go.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 18.45.18.png
Nearly there

After a lot more re working I think i  felt the end draw near!  Doing the last tweaks and touches ups before I just give up and call it a day! [I would like to point out i’m not working on the smoothed view, i’m constantly flicking between smooth and unsmoothed but for the screenshots I went for smooth. ]

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 18.58.03
Done

And here it is, I think it looks like me. The nose has improved from the first image a lot so that’s a plus and I like my jaw line. The topology looks a lot more clean that it was two days ago so overall I’m pleased!

 

 

Leave a Reply

